Running CentOS 4 with KDE

General support questions including new installations
Post Reply
liverpoolfc
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005/04/11 15:05:38

Running CentOS 4 with KDE

Post by liverpoolfc » 2005/04/11 15:32:24

I'm currently running a different distro with KDE as my WM. I know that CentOS can be installed with KDE, but Gnome is the default. Is there anything missing or any gotcha's if you use KDE as the WM for CentOS 4?

Thanks,

Udo Hoerhold

arrasmith
Posts: 31
Joined: 2005/04/07 15:18:31
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

Re: Running CentOS 4 with KDE

Post by arrasmith » 2005/04/11 17:12:14

I always install without gdm and no gnome. Though I do two things after I first setup the system

1. run "yum upgrade" to get the latest from CentOS updates.

2. setup http://kde-redhat.sf.net/ and run "yum upgrade" to get the latest KDE with mp3 support, kaffeine, kdeedu, kile, RealPlayer 10, etc.

Personally, I would also download and install the w32codecs and dvd stuff from http://atrpms.net/ so you can view QT and/or .wmv files and play your DVD's with kaffeine.

I still think there should be a CentOS+ distribution. One that merges CentOS + kde-redhat + java + flash + RealPlayer 10 + whatever. Basically a KDE centric workstation that has the stuff a home user expects and that will be supported until 2012.

- mark

liverpoolfc
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005/04/11 15:05:38

Re: Running CentOS 4 with KDE

Post by liverpoolfc » 2005/04/11 17:51:04

Thanks for the info. How do you keep CentOS from using gdm? If you install only KDE and deselect Gnome completely in the install, do you get kdm instead of gdm automatically?

Thanks,

Udo

arrasmith
Posts: 31
Joined: 2005/04/07 15:18:31
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

Re: Running CentOS 4 with KDE

Post by arrasmith » 2005/04/11 18:15:20

[quote]
liverpoolfc wrote:
Thanks for the info. How do you keep CentOS from using gdm? If you install only KDE and deselect Gnome completely in the install, do you get kdm instead of gdm automatically?
[/quote]

The option to install gdm is under the XFree (X.org? I forget then option name right now) sub-option. Not under Gnome (which is strange to me). I just deselect Gnome and then go into the XFree and deselect gdm. I also browse around and deselect anything else that is gnome based.

- mark

yur1022
Posts: 30
Joined: 2005/04/05 03:39:23

Running CentOS 4 with KDE

Post by yur1022 » 2005/04/11 18:32:46

[quote]
liverpoolfc wrote:
How do you keep CentOS from using gdm? ... get kdm instead of gdm automatically?

Thanks,

Udo[/quote]

As the root, edit /etc/sysconfig/desktop so that it contains DESKTOP="KDE"

DESKTOP="KDE"
DISPLAYMANAGER="KDE"

yur

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”