how do i mount file systems?

General support questions including new installations
Post Reply
duffmckagan
Posts: 45
Joined: 2005/04/11 07:31:19
Location: Doha,Qatar

how do i mount file systems?

Post by duffmckagan » 2005/04/11 11:44:44

i am dual booting cent os and windows xp,

i can't access my windows partitions in Cent OS.....how can i do that?

all of them r Fat 32 considering that it is easy for linux based systems to access Fat

can anybodyhelp me out to point out the tool i may use to mount the partitions,

and if it is teh command line then plz , the procedure

reichhartkg
Posts: 26
Joined: 2005/04/05 06:24:31
Location: Burlington, VT
Contact:

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by reichhartkg » 2005/04/11 13:12:14

Try something like
mount -t vfat /dev/hdb1 /mount/point

Of course, substituting the corrent paths.

duffmckagan
Posts: 45
Joined: 2005/04/11 07:31:19
Location: Doha,Qatar

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by duffmckagan » 2005/04/12 10:05:47

where should i type this?

in terminal?

or do i have to edit the fstab in etc....

what should i do and how ..plz

i don't have much knowledge about this..

plz guide me..

sbassett
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005/02/16 21:18:46
Contact:

how do i mount file systems?

Post by sbassett » 2005/04/12 17:29:27

It depends on how you want them mounted. Each time at startup, then add to /etc/fstab. If you just want them mounted manually, you could either type in the command, or place it in fstab with the noauto agrument.
If you use the noauto, then you would only have to use:

mount /mount/point

Another argument you might want to take a look at is the umask option. You can decide who will access the contents or if it will be flat out root only access.

arrasmith
Posts: 31
Joined: 2005/04/07 15:18:31
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by arrasmith » 2005/04/12 17:46:43

For me I have /dev/hda1 as the vfat partion that WinXP is using. So I created a directory /media/winxp and then add the following line to /etc/fstab ...


/dev/hda1 /media/winxp auto noauto,owner,user 0 0


- mark

duffmckagan
Posts: 45
Joined: 2005/04/11 07:31:19
Location: Doha,Qatar

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by duffmckagan » 2005/04/12 18:19:08

what is that mount, unmount, owner, user, 0, 0 ??

does it mean that it will mount will not mount as well as unmount automatically for both root (owner) and the other users?

arrasmith
Posts: 31
Joined: 2005/04/07 15:18:31
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by arrasmith » 2005/04/12 20:01:28

[quote]
duffmckagan wrote:
what is that mount, unmount, owner, user, 0, 0 ??

does it mean that it will mount will not mount as well as unmount automatically for both root (owner) and the other users?[/quote]

mount and umount are the system commands that add devices to file tree or remove devices from the file tree (respectively). Normally they are used only by root to mount the system itself. You can call them from the command line ...

mount -t ext3 /dev/sda1 /media/usbdrive
umount /media/usbdrive

To see all the options just type from a command line

man mount
man umount

If you are using Konqueror you can also just use man:/mount in the location bar to get a nicely formated manual page. My CentOS 4 has two mount manuals. The one in man8 is the one you want.

Now to make life easier the file /etc/fstab is just a shortcut way of using mount and umount. For example a line like ...

/dev/hda1 /media/winxp auto noauto,owner,user 0 0

The first thing "/dev/hda1" is the where linux will find the device. The second option "/media/winxp" is where mount will make the files on the device available. The third option "auto" just tells the system to figure out what type of file system it is (vfat, ext3, or whatever) on its own. The next list of options "noauto,owner,user" are the literal options passed to the mount command. You can get a list of valid options from "man mount".

So now a normal user can just type ...

mount /media/winxp

to get access to the WindowsXP files.

Hope this helps.

- mark

duffmckagan
Posts: 45
Joined: 2005/04/11 07:31:19
Location: Doha,Qatar

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by duffmckagan » 2005/04/13 04:08:45

Thanks arrasmith for giving me so much time to make me understand

i am new to linux but i am trying to get familiar with almost all the text based controls....

I understand Boolean Logic...
Thanks again.

duffmckagan
Posts: 45
Joined: 2005/04/11 07:31:19
Location: Doha,Qatar

Re: how do i mount file systems?

Post by duffmckagan » 2005/04/13 04:19:08

I am not using KDE .......so no Konquerer...

i don't have the CD 3.....(download is still in progress)........

so can i get that nicely formatted manual in GNOME?

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”