Help with Up2date...Does it work in CentOS 4.0?

General support questions including new installations
Post Reply
rickiez
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005/03/04 12:45:24

Help with Up2date...Does it work in CentOS 4.0?

Post by rickiez » 2005/03/04 12:51:18

I switched from fedora core 3 to CentOS 4 recently. When I attempt to run Up2date through Gnome it fails to complete. It just site on trying to find the "host" file. I have attached a screenshot. Any/alll help is greatly appreciated since this is my first time with this distro.

Thanks is advance!

P.S. - does anyone know if there's a way to actually get this machine as an active directory member through Gnome, or do I have to edit Samba manually?

meekrob
Posts: 23
Joined: 2005/03/06 19:26:14

Re: Help with Up2date...Does it work in CentOS 4.0?

Post by meekrob » 2005/03/06 20:44:15

I don't think Up2date works with CentOS, you need to use Yum.

Gantry
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005/03/07 16:48:35

Re: Help with Up2date...Does it work in CentOS 4.0?

Post by Gantry » 2005/03/07 16:57:11

I can't help with the specific problem, but in the [url=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/os/i386/RELEASE-NOTES-en.html]CentOS 4 Release Notes[/url]:

[quote]CentOS 4 offers both yum and up2date to do updates of the operating system. You can use either or both of these to manage your updates.[/quote]

meekrob
Posts: 23
Joined: 2005/03/06 19:26:14

Re: Help with Up2date...Does it work in CentOS 4.0?

Post by meekrob » 2005/03/08 01:26:50

Oops, my mistake. I thought up2date was a redhat only thing. I would still suggest using yum. I've used up2date with FC2 and FC3 and my experience was that it was extremely slow, chokes on dependencies from time to time and had a major problem with dialogue window focus. Sometimes the dialogue box "Do you want to ... whatever? Yes/No" would be hidden behind the progress meter and just sit there. If you are getting paid by the hour it's great!

I'd go with yum.

Green
Posts: 1
Joined: 2004/12/02 15:51:38
Contact:

Help with Up2date...Does it work in CentOS 4.0?

Post by Green » 2005/03/09 13:52:05

Of course, it does.
CentOS's Up2Date works perfectly here.

You have to edit /etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources and
please set a good Mirror, for Main server is slow.
An example to set YUM repository of FOO as follows:

#yum centos4-Base http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/os/$ARCH/
#yum centos4-Updates http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/updates/$ARCH/
#yum centos4-extras http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/extras/$ARCH/
#yum centos4-contrib http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/contrib/$ARCH/
#yum centos4-extras http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/addons/$ARCH/

yum centos4-Base http://FOO/caos/centos/4/os/$ARCH/
yum centos4-Updates http://FOO/caos/centos/4/updates/$ARCH/
yum centos4-extras http://FOO/caos/centos/4/extras/$ARCH/
yum centos4-contrib http://FOO/caos/centos/4/contrib/$ARCH/
yum centos4-addons http://FOO/caos/centos/4/addons/$ARCH/

"CentOS Up2date" is quite a usuful tool in a graphical Desktop.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - General Support”