Page 1 of 1

why my 4GB ram only recongized as 3.86GB

Posted: 2008/06/20 04:47:20
by waichun
any way to solve it?
thx a lot

Re: why my 4GB ram only recongized as 3.86GB

Posted: 2008/06/20 05:01:52
by waichun
i found this strange message in dmesg

Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM
Mapping aperture over 65536 KB of RAM @ 4000000

Re: why my 4GB ram only recongized as 3.86GB

Posted: 2008/06/20 07:33:18
by AlanBartlett
[quote]Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM[/quote]
So you have discovered the solution to your RAM discrepancy. :-D
4 GB less 64 MB is approximately equal to 3.86 GB.
Just enable the IOMMU option in your BIOS and the system will see all 4 GB of your memory.