[RESOLVED] dmidecode "No SMBIOS nor DMI entry point found, sorry"

General support questions including new installations
Post Reply
chuina
Posts: 355
Joined: 2009/12/11 10:25:56

[RESOLVED] dmidecode "No SMBIOS nor DMI entry point found, sorry"

Post by chuina » 2012/09/25 15:58:54

Hello,

I can't check my PC's ram speed by 'dmidecode'
[code]
[root@localhost ~]# dmidecode
# dmidecode 2.11
# No SMBIOS nor DMI entry point found, sorry.[/code]

Here's PC info:
[code][root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
CentOS release 5.8 (Final)
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-devel-2.6.18-308.13.1.el5
kernel-2.6.18-308.13.1.el5
kernel-headers-2.6.18-308.13.1.el5[/code]

Any idea how to check ram speed by dmidecode?
or, any alternet tool to do this?


Thanks.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 28024
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

[RESOLVED] dmidecode "No SMBIOS nor DMI entry point found, s

Post by TrevorH » 2012/09/25 16:04:15

Pretty sure you can't then. That means that dmidecode couldn't find the BIOS table that it should have set up containing that DMI data. If it's not there then its because the BIOS neglected to set it up - perhaps there's a setting in the BIOS? Or a BIOS upgrade?

If you have DDR2 RAM then installing lm_sensors and `modprobe eeprom` then running decode-dimms.pl should give a lot more information. For DDR3 you need to locate a different script which isn't supplied by CentOS lm_sensors.

chuina
Posts: 355
Joined: 2009/12/11 10:25:56

Re: dmidecode "No SMBIOS nor DMI entry point found, sorry"

Post by chuina » 2012/09/25 22:50:24

Those will help me to check in DDR2,3 rams. Thanks for your reply.

Any option for DDR1?


--------------------------------
Edit:
--------------------------------

DDR1 works same DDR2..

Thanks again. :-)

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 28024
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: [RESOLVED] dmidecode "No SMBIOS nor DMI entry point found, sorry"

Post by TrevorH » 2012/09/26 00:56:43

Glad you got the information you wanted.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - General Support”