DRDY ERR

General support questions including new installations
michaelnel
Posts: 1478
Joined: 2006/05/29 16:50:11
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by michaelnel » 2010/03/05 23:48:25

You need to ask your hosting company for help then. Nothing else I can do for you if you cannot interact with the VPS.

gmcust3
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009/10/28 19:44:35

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by gmcust3 » 2010/03/05 23:49:54

But he is also NOT getting root prompt.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by pschaff » 2010/03/06 00:25:55

Then there is not much we can do. Sounds like a hardware problem to me. Again, a provider issue.

gmcust3
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009/10/28 19:44:35

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by gmcust3 » 2010/03/06 00:32:49

HDD change is the Only Option ?

Or full Reinstall everything ?

gmcust3
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009/10/28 19:44:35

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by gmcust3 » 2010/03/06 00:37:55

HDD change is the Only Option ?

Or full Reinstall everything ?

michaelnel
Posts: 1478
Joined: 2006/05/29 16:50:11
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by michaelnel » 2010/03/06 00:38:06

Phil and I believe this is a hardware problem that is going to require testing and analysis by your provider. It might be a loose cable or RAM that needs reseating or any number of things, but it requires someone to put their hands on the physical machine and we cannot do that from here.

I assume you have good backups you can restore from if the drive has to be replaced, right?

gmcust3
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009/10/28 19:44:35

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by gmcust3 » 2010/03/06 00:44:15

We dont save much data as such to get it restore.

1) I will try to change the RAM

2) I will try to change Cable

3) I will try to Remove DVD Drive

4) If above not works, then Reinstall.

5) If that also fails, then HDD problem. Though HDD is a new one.

By the server is in same city , its just that we are quite far away like me and my gf ;)

Only difference is I can access the server through RDB or Team Viewer but cant use the same over GF :-))

gmcust3
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009/10/28 19:44:35

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by gmcust3 » 2010/03/06 19:33:09

It gets stuck after "starting atad" !!!

I got the server at my premises.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by pschaff » 2010/03/06 20:14:35

Reading between the lines, I presume you do not have hardware support and are on your own. I'd try booting from 5.4 installation media in rescue mode next. If it is a hard disk problem that won't help, except for providing additional data about the problem. Have seen quite a few reports lately of new hard drives going bad. Might provide info about the drive to see if anyone is familiar with it.

gmcust3
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009/10/28 19:44:35

Re: DRDY ERR

Post by gmcust3 » 2010/03/06 21:07:20

Reinstalled and all Ok.

HDD looks ok.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - General Support”