Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

General support questions including new installations
ToddAndMargo
Posts: 400
Joined: 2007/02/20 04:27:08
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/USA/Nevada GMT-8

Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by ToddAndMargo » 2008/07/16 16:49:49

Hi All,

I am trying to file a bug on grub-install and the rescue disk. When I
press "Submit" I go directly back to "View Issues" (http://bugs.centos.org/view_all_bug_page.php)
and my bug does not get entered. Usually it goes to the specific bugs I just created.

Is the bug tracking system down?

Many thanks,
-T

Evolution
Posts: 229
Joined: 2005/02/22 16:10:54
Location: Houston Texas
Contact:

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by Evolution » 2008/07/16 17:13:51

No, and you filed it successfully. I've already seen the email from the ticketing system.

If the system were down, you'd not even get a page displayed.

ToddAndMargo
Posts: 400
Joined: 2007/02/20 04:27:08
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/USA/Nevada GMT-8

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by ToddAndMargo » 2008/07/16 17:18:29

[quote]
Evolution wrote:
No, and you filed it successfully. I've already seen the email from the ticketing system.

If the system were down, you'd not even get a page displayed.[/quote]


I filed it twice yesterday and once today. Did you get all three?

Would you mind sending me the link?

Many thanks,
-T

Evolution
Posts: 229
Joined: 2005/02/22 16:10:54
Location: Houston Texas
Contact:

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by Evolution » 2008/07/16 17:32:00

bugs.centos.org. and don't file the same bug multiple times. All it does is make us close it. Then you can't see it, and think that the tracker is down, so you post here.

Just post the bug once please.

http://bugs.centos.org/view.php?id=2989

Evolution
Posts: 229
Joined: 2005/02/22 16:10:54
Location: Houston Texas
Contact:

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by Evolution » 2008/07/16 17:35:43

As a bit of etiquette, filing the SAME bug repeatedly is bad form. Doing what you're doing will just anger/irritate developers who need to be spending time on things other than closing duplicate bug reports.

ToddAndMargo
Posts: 400
Joined: 2007/02/20 04:27:08
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/USA/Nevada GMT-8

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by ToddAndMargo » 2008/07/16 17:36:16

Thank you!
-T

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7462
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by toracat » 2008/07/16 17:38:32

Try also http://bugs.centos.org/my_view_page.php to see if you can locate all your filed bugs including the closed ones.

ToddAndMargo
Posts: 400
Joined: 2007/02/20 04:27:08
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/USA/Nevada GMT-8

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by ToddAndMargo » 2008/07/16 17:47:15

[quote]
Evolution wrote:
bugs.centos.org. and don't file the same bug multiple times. All it does is make us close it. Then you can't see it, and think that the tracker is down, so you post here.

Just post the bug once please [/quote]

[quote]
Evolution wrote:
As a bit of etiquette, filing the SAME bug repeatedly is bad form. Doing what you're doing will just anger/irritate developers who need to be spending time on things other than closing duplicate bug reports.
[/quote]

In my original post, I stated that after pressing the "submit" button, that "View Issues"
pop up and not the bug. And, that "View Issues" did not display my bug. I had "no reason"
to believe that the bug had been successful created. There was no intention to breach "etiquette".

Something is broken in the bug tracker system.

-T

Evolution
Posts: 229
Joined: 2005/02/22 16:10:54
Location: Houston Texas
Contact:

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by Evolution » 2008/07/16 18:00:46

Browser/User error. Just because it doesn't work for you, doesn't mean it's down. We have systems in place which watch our servers to notify us of problems and outages.

ToddAndMargo
Posts: 400
Joined: 2007/02/20 04:27:08
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/USA/Nevada GMT-8

Re: Is the "Bug Tracker" down?

Post by ToddAndMargo » 2008/07/16 18:12:56

[quote]
Evolution wrote:
Browser/User error. Just because it doesn't work for you, doesn't mean it's down. We have systems in place which watch our servers to notify us of problems and outages.[/quote]

I have filed more than a few bugs. This is the first I have noticed this problem.

$ rpm -qa \*firefox\*
firefox-3.0-2.el5.centos

Do you have any suggestions as to how to fix this?

Many thanks,
-T

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - General Support”