Question: No RX traffic on Vlan

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
AlcSilian
Posts: 18
Joined: 2011/10/30 07:04:24
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Question: No RX traffic on Vlan

Post by AlcSilian » 2011/11/05 09:05:05

Hello. So I managed to install Centos 6.0 but i have some issues with the Vlans. So what is happening:

We have eth0 and eth1. We have some vlans eth0.104 eth1.200 and so on.
[code]
ifconfig eth1
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:30:48:56:79:7D
inet6 addr: fe80::230:48ff:fe56:797d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:61538581 errors:18 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:18
TX packets:57569899 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:58983863955 (54.9 GiB) TX bytes:50894282380 (47.3 GiB)
Memory:ed300000-ed320000[/code]

So we see that eth1 have RX/TX traffic.
[code]
ifconfig eth1.200
eth1.200 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:30:48:56:79:7D
inet addr:85.122.x.x Bcast:85.122.44.15 Mask:255.255.255.240
inet6 addr: fe80::230:48ff:fe56:797d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:31385 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:18227615 (17.3 MiB)[/code]
[Moderator edit: Added [i]code[/i] tags to preserve formatting.]

Now we see that the Vlan has only TX traffic.

Why this is happening? IS this a bug??? Can this be fixed??

Thank you.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Question: No RX traffic on Vlan

Post by pschaff » 2011/11/09 01:21:29

It is probably not a bug, and like most things CentOS, it probably can be fixed, particularly if you [url=http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=28723&forum=54]provide more information about your system[/url] by running "./getinfo.sh network" and show us the output file.

r_hartman
Posts: 706
Joined: 2009/03/23 15:08:11
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Question: No RX traffic on Vlan

Post by r_hartman » 2011/11/09 11:37:30

Not sure what's going on, but could return traffic for eth1.200 be coming in on eth1?
What I notice is what I think is an inconsistent network config:
- eth1 has no IPv4 address
- eth1.200 has an IPv4 address
- eth1 and eth1.200 have identical IPv6 addresses
I haven really put much time into looking at IPv6 yet, but I doubt whether two interfaces are allowed to have the same address.
Even when it's not conflicting with IPv6, it might be that traffic for that address gets handled by eth1 i.o. eth1.200

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - Networking Support”