Bonding on CentOS 6

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
ehuk
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008/12/27 19:14:08

Bonding on CentOS 6

Post by ehuk » 2011/11/04 12:50:07

Hi There,

We have a number of servers running CentOS 5.x with bonding enabled between two switches in a stack (802.3ad).

Today I provisioned a new server running CentOS 6.0 but I simply can't get bonding working. I have done my research and have taken into account the deprecated modprobe.conf file but I can't ping anything.

The network was tested prior to bonding so it isn't an issue there, the switch shows the port channel down so I am stumped. *bangs head*

/etc/modprobe.d/bonding.conf

[code]
alias bond0 bonding
[/code]

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-bond0

[code]
DEVICE="bond0"
IPADDR="1.1.1.1"
NETMASK="255.255.255.0"
ONBOOT="yes"
BONDING_OPTS="miimon=80 mode=4"
[/code]

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and eth1

[code]
DEVICE="ethN"
BOOTPROTO="none"
HWADDR="X"
ONBOOT="yes"
USERCTL="no"
SLAVE="yes"
MASTER="bond0"
[/code]

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Bonding on CentOS 6

Post by pschaff » 2011/11/07 01:18:55

I don't use bonding so this is strictly a guess, but as nobody else has replied I'll jump in - it may be related to the upstream switch from the network service to NetworkManager and the issue addressed in the [url=http://wiki.centos.org/Manuals/ReleaseNotes/CentOS6.0]CentOS 6.0 Release Notes[/url] and [url=http://wiki.centos.org/FAQ/CentOS6#head-b67e85d98f0e9f1b599358105c551632c6ff7c90]FAQ #2[/url].

OT: I see you have been around quite a while but this is only your 3rd post and your third question. You got responses to your previous questions, but never replied. Please review [url=http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=28726&forum=54]Readme First[/url] and particularly the suggestions about the way to respond when your questions are answered.

lanix
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011/11/08 05:03:13
Contact:

Re: Bonding on CentOS 6

Post by lanix » 2011/11/08 05:06:41

I had similar issues when moving to Centos6 I discovered that the problem was with the quotes around the values, for example:

DEVICE="bond0"
IPADDR="1.1.1.1"
NETMASK="255.255.255.0"
ONBOOT="yes"

should be:

DEVICE=bond0
IPADDR=1.1.1.1
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
ONBOOT=yes

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - Networking Support”