[SOLVED] New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge ... DH67BL mobo

Issues related to hardware problems
vrkrao
Posts: 34
Joined: 2011/07/28 16:07:31

Re: New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge i5-2400+Intel DH67BL mobo

Post by vrkrao » 2011/08/02 17:34:13

[quote]
pschaff wrote:
If Gerald's suggestion does not get you to where you need to be, some ASCII art may help us to understand the network topology. See [url=https://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=27840&forum=40&post_id=114610#forumpost114610]this post[/url] for an example.

I'm guessing your setup is something like:

[code]
ISP
|
|
DSL_Modem/Router/DHCP/DNS/Switch
| | | |
Windows_Laptop
[/code]
Please correct as necessary and depict the two scenarios you describe in your last post.[/quote]
Phil, your depiction is correct. Things got scrambled in my post. Tried doing it again, but, not able to replicate
your depiction.

Your understanding is correct. Just add Linux_box to one of the ports. so, one port has laptop and one other
port has linux box (Two port are not connected). Either Linux_box or Laptop only (only one at a time) is able to
connect to internet by giving a username and password. When one (linux or laptop) connects to internet in
DSL mode (PPPOE I guess), the other one does not connect as simple dhcp client. I hope I got my terminology
right.

Will talk to ISP regarding Gerald's suggestion and let you guys know.

regds.,
Ramki.

vrkrao
Posts: 34
Joined: 2011/07/28 16:07:31

Re: New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge i5-2400+Intel DH67BL mobo

Post by vrkrao » 2011/08/02 17:53:01

[quote]
pschaff wrote:
I suspect Gerald has correctly diagnosed the problem.[/quote]
Thank you Gerald.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge i5-2400+Intel DH67BL mobo

Post by pschaff » 2011/08/02 18:00:02

Sounds like Gerald nailed it. May we now mark this thread [SOLVED] for posterity?

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge i5-2400+Intel DH67BL mobo

Post by gerald_clark » 2011/08/03 14:17:12

Happy to help.

vrkrao
Posts: 34
Joined: 2011/07/28 16:07:31

Re: New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge i5-2400+Intel DH67BL mobo

Post by vrkrao » 2011/08/04 10:15:51

Hi Trevor,Alan,Gerald and Phil,

Thanks to all of you. Now, my linux box with CentOS 6 is fully up and running.

With respect to internet problem, Gerald was right. I logged into the router
and configured it to be PPPoE from bridge mode. Now, both windows and
linux boxes connect to the internet without any problem.

Thank you all for making my first Linux install on new box successful.
You may consider this thread as SOLVED :-) :-)

regds.,
Ramki.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge...

Post by pschaff » 2011/08/04 10:27:15

Thanks for reporting back. Marking this thread [SOLVED] for posterity.

P.S. Please try to pick a shorter Subject next time around - had to abbreviate it to make room for the [SOLVED] label. :-)

vrkrao
Posts: 34
Joined: 2011/07/28 16:07:31

Re: [SOLVED] New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge...

Post by vrkrao » 2011/08/04 12:55:27

[quote]
pschaff wrote:
Thanks for reporting back. Marking this thread [SOLVED] for posterity.

P.S. Please try to pick a shorter Subject next time around - had to abbreviate it to make room for the [SOLVED] label. :-)[/quote]

Definitely!!!

Result of reading 'how to post' and 'smart questions' :-) :-)

Wanted to give you max info on the title. It didn't take anymore :-) :-)

Thanks as lot guys. Running CentOS was essential for me.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] New box, centos6.0, did not install gui mode, no Internet, Sandy Bridge...

Post by pschaff » 2011/08/04 13:03:43

You are welcome. Guess we need to tweak the language in the guidelines to say a [i][b]succinct[/b][/i] descriptive Subject. :-)

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - Hardware Support”