Enable spellchecking in Kile

Issues related to applications and software problems
CorentinBL

Enable spellchecking in Kile

Post by CorentinBL » 2020/07/01 15:40:51

Hello everybody,

As a PhD student, I have to write my thesis using LaTeX. To do so, I use Kile 2.1.0 with KDE 4.3.4 on a computer with CentOS 6.9 (Linux kernel: 4.14.11-1.el6.elrepo.x86_64, GNOME 2.28.2).

I am looking for a way to spot spelling mistakes that make the proofreading time consuming. But in the Kile GUI, when I click Tools -> Spelling... or Tools -> Spelling (from cursor)..., nothing happens. In addition, "Spellcheck selection" is inactive so I can't click on it.

From what I understand, spellchecking is handled at the OS level and not by Kile specifically. However, I have checked in my package manager and aspell and hunspell, which are common spelling packages that I saw online when looking for a solution, are installed.

I have also found a French article that explains that a couple of lines should be added to the kdeglobals file (see step 2 here: http://frubuntued.blogspot.com/2008/07/ ... -kile.html). I have tried it, but after rebooting the computer, nothing seems to have changed.

Finally, I have found that the language for spellchecking in KDE could be set using kcontrol, but it is not installed on my computer and, from what I understand, it is now deprecated.

If you have any ideas about how to solve this problem, I would be grateful to you for sharing it. If you need more information to help me, I will be happy to provide it.

Corentin.

(For your information, in case you might suggest to update CentOS 7 since 6.9 won't be updated after November 2020, I unfortunately can't. I have to use this OS version for other software that I use for my PhD. Thank you for your understanding.)
French PhD Student - CentOS user since Dec. 27th 2017

TrevorH
Site Admin

Re: Enable spellchecking in Kile

Post by TrevorH » 2020/07/01 16:17:02