Apache httpd high CPU usage

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
fbartolom
Posts: 31
Joined: 2014/05/14 15:23:52
Contact:

Apache httpd high CPU usage

Post by fbartolom » 2020/02/15 16:18:31

Since some time my server keeps going to 100% both of usage and cpu and blocks everything, including remote login until I manually reboot it.
My yum configuration was quite old and now I updated it: the situations has somewhat improved for the time: now I have 0.58% of CPU, but 54.99% of Ram occupation. I shall check if it was just the old server configuration to create problems, what sometime troubles me. I thought if you do not change anything things keeps on going as before, what seems not the case.

Thanks for you attention,
Fabrizio

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29430
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Apache httpd high CPU usage

Post by TrevorH » 2020/02/15 18:18:46

Please don't hijack 4 year old threads that have nothing to do with your problem. I've split your post out into its own thread where it should hopefully get better, more accurate responses.
I thought if you do not change anything things keeps on going as before, what seems not the case.
No. What happens if you leave old computer software alone and don't touch it is that people find vulnerabilities in it and exploit that to compromise your server.

I suspect you'd get better help if you posted more accurate information about what the problem is. What are you running? What is slow? Are you running Apache httpd at all like the subject suggests?
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Whoever
Posts: 1126
Joined: 2013/09/06 03:12:10

Re: Apache httpd high CPU usage

Post by Whoever » 2020/02/15 20:43:45

fbartolom wrote:
2020/02/15 16:18:31
.... but 54.99% of Ram occupation.
Read this:
https://www.linuxatemyram.com/

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - Software Support”