samba-tool?

Issues related to applications and software problems
simon_matthews
Posts: 315
Joined: 2012/09/15 21:06:54

samba-tool?

Post by simon_matthews » 2013/03/29 05:18:09

Can anyone tell me where I can find samba-tool (what package/repository)? I am trying to do a samba3 to samba4 migration and the howtos refer to using this tool:
http://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Samba4/samba-tool/domain/classicupgrade/HOWTO
[quote]
# /usr/local/samba/bin/samba-tool domain classicupgrade --dbdir=/path/to/samba3/tdbfiles --use-xattrs=yes --realm=myname.org /path/to/samba3.conf
[/quote]

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29457
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

samba-tool?

Post by TrevorH » 2013/03/29 09:29:16

It doesn't seem to be anything that CentOS supplies but I believe the version of samba4 in CentOS 6.4 is still a stripped down version that contains only enough for the IPA packages to function.

dspolleke
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009/10/22 14:27:21

Re: samba-tool?

Post by dspolleke » 2013/03/29 09:49:05

It is not included in the RPM, afaik.

I have used this HowTo:

https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Samba_AD_DC_HOWTO

combined with some resources from:

http://opentodo.net/2013/01/samba4-as-ad-domain-controller-on-centos-6/

to get things going.

ALex_hha
Posts: 90
Joined: 2010/04/07 13:02:13
Contact:

Re: samba-tool?

Post by ALex_hha » 2013/04/04 15:03:57

[quote]Can anyone tell me where I can find samba-tool [/quote]
you can obtain this tool from src http://download.samba.org/samba/ftp/stable/samba-4.0.4.tar.gz (source4/scripting/bin)

Rob1698
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013/10/15 17:32:22

Re: samba-tool?

Post by Rob1698 » 2013/10/15 17:38:31

So I have to remove all the samba4 packages provided via CentOS 6.4 and install from source?
Is there no CentOS 6.4 package that provides "samba" and "samba-tool"?
(I could not find it)

Rob1698
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013/10/15 17:32:22

Re: samba-tool?

Post by Rob1698 » 2013/10/15 17:58:07

Thank you, this looks good.
It is for work, I'll register and download tomorrow.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29457
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: samba-tool?

Post by TrevorH » 2013/10/15 18:08:19

Rather than install from source I would search for prebuilt RPM packages. I did so and found http://ftp.sernet.de/pub/samba/ which has a readme file in the 4.0 directory telling you how to register with SerNet to get the download address. I did not do so so I cannot vouch for the quality of these packages. If you do then a report back here would be useful.

Rob1698
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013/10/15 17:32:22

Re: samba-tool?

Post by Rob1698 » 2013/10/19 19:34:51

I downloaded and installed those packages and succeeded in joining an existing Windows domain
as a domain controller. The server now is domain controller, DNS server, and DHCP server.

To get everything working I had to fix some permissions issues, apply a patch found using Google,
and to get rid of the %$^$@#Q selinux.

I reported my findings to sernet.de...

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 29457
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: samba-tool?

Post by TrevorH » 2013/10/19 19:40:05

I wouldn't disable eslinux. If you want help to fix that then probably best to start a new thread. Stick selinux in permissive mode instead of disabled, recreate the issue then look in /var/log/audit/auditd.log and/or use the aureport/ausearch tools to look at the denials it causes. Use audit2allow to generate a policy module that allows those things that were denied and you should be good to go.

kjertil
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014/05/27 09:18:12

Re: samba-tool?

Post by kjertil » 2014/06/05 10:31:23

Sorry for opening an old thread. Why isn't samba-tool command available in CentOS? That was a good question.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - Software Support”