Login on KDE

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
Iutech
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021/06/16 08:52:13

Login on KDE

Post by Iutech » 2021/12/10 10:42:10

Hi all.
As I wrote elsewhere, I'm a Debianist but I come in peace, please don't kill me.

We have a few CentOS 6 on dual-boot at work, I asked about upgrading them to CentOS 7 and was answered "yes, if it still possible to use Marionette on KDE".

Since I don't know which Marionette they're talking about (apparently there are many softwares named Marionette, none in the official CentOS repositories) I logged on one of the CentOS 6 computers to find what they are using, but not only didn't I find Marionette on it, I couldn't log on KDE.

When I log in, I'm in Gnome 2. There are a lot of KDE applications in the menu (like Konsole) so I guess that KDE is actually installed, but it's not offered as an option on the login screen.

I looked on DDG and what I found was either to use the button on the bottom left of the login screen (there is none) or to go to "Applications" and select Desktop Switcher, which I wasn't able to find anyway.

Since it's a CentOS 6 and the repositories have been removed by RedHat, I can't install anything on it...

Any solution ?

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 4014
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: Login on KDE

Post by jlehtone » 2021/12/10 13:25:23

Iutech wrote:
2021/12/10 10:42:10
... was answered "yes, if it still possible to use Marionette on KDE".

Since I don't know which Marionette they're talking about (apparently there are many softwares named Marionette, ...
If they can't explain in better detail, then they don't need it? :twisted:

Iutech
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021/06/16 08:52:13

Re: Login on KDE

Post by Iutech » 2021/12/10 13:28:13

Well, it's just that they may not be online right now (and I don't have any idea about when they will be), and since my boss is anti-linux, I'd like to do that upgrade as soon as I can, before he has time to say "don't bother about it"...

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 31918
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Login on KDE

Post by TrevorH » 2021/12/10 17:22:50

You're going to need to find out what this software is so that you can replicate the install.
CentOS 8 died a premature death at the end of 2021 - migrate to Rocky/Alma/OEL/Springdale ASAP.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are dead, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

Iutech
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021/06/16 08:52:13

Re: Login on KDE

Post by Iutech » 2021/12/15 09:58:45

Yes, my boss told me it's in fact Marionnet.
Apparently not in the CentOS 7 repositories though.

But I still don't know how to login on KDE on these CentOS machines...

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 31918
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Login on KDE

Post by TrevorH » 2021/12/15 11:56:38

You don't need to run a full KDE desktop to run KDE applications.

I looked at the link you posted and it doesn't appear that they supprt anything other than Debian for a packaged install. Anything else and it looks like you need to run their "script" to do the install. I suspect your best bet is to set up a disposable VM with a GUI running the newer version of CentOS that you want and then run the script they provide and see what it complains about.
CentOS 8 died a premature death at the end of 2021 - migrate to Rocky/Alma/OEL/Springdale ASAP.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are dead, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

Iutech
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021/06/16 08:52:13

Re: Login on KDE

Post by Iutech » 2021/12/15 14:48:02

OK, I tried to compile from sources but the Sourceforge link the Marionnet website provides is dead (and nobody answered the contact form yet).


Anyway, how to login on KDE ? Or to check if KDE is there since it's theoretically possible that KDE isn't there (though the demander assumes it is and the applications are there) ?

Post Reply