No modules available to load

General support questions
Post Reply
garethw
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/10/14 15:02:11

No modules available to load

Post by garethw » 2018/10/14 15:20:47

Hi All,

I'm attempting to harden my VPS install of Plesk 17.5.3 on a Centos 6.10 base and wanted to make a separate /tmp mount using a file.

I've created the file with dd, formatted it ext3 and added it to fstab with no problem but when I try and mount the file I get the following message
mount: Could not find any loop device. Maybe this kernel does not know
about the loop device? (If so, recompile or `modprobe loop'.)
I tried runing modprobe as the error suggested and got
FATAL: Module loop not found.
uname -r gives me 2.6.32-042stab127.2
running find /lib/modules/$(uname -r) -name *loop* -print gives me nothing
ls /lib/modules/$(uname -r) gives
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 45 Oct 14 11:13 modules.alias
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12 Oct 14 11:13 modules.alias.bin
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 69 Oct 14 11:13 modules.ccwmap
0 -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Oct 14 11:13 modules.dep
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12 Oct 14 11:13 modules.dep.bin
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 73 Oct 14 11:13 modules.ieee1394map
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 141 Oct 14 11:13 modules.inputmap
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 81 Oct 14 11:13 modules.isapnpmap
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 74 Oct 14 11:13 modules.ofmap
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 99 Oct 14 11:13 modules.pcimap
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 43 Oct 14 11:13 modules.seriomap
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 131 Oct 14 11:13 modules.softdep
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 49 Oct 14 11:13 modules.symbols
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12 Oct 14 11:13 modules.symbols.bin
4.0K -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 189 Oct 14 11:13 modules.usbmap
Now, I'm not totally sure, and normally work on Ubuntu servers, but I thought that this directory should contain a whole load of directories with a load of .ko files.

Am I missing something here or do I have no modules available?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 27389
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: No modules available to load

Post by TrevorH » 2018/10/14 16:23:38

uname -r gives me 2.6.32-042stab127.2
Unfortunately what you have there is not a CentOS system, it's an openvz container. It'll have no control over kernel modules etc so you'll need to talk to your hoster and get them to set it up on the host for you... or look for another provider who'll give you a real system not a container.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
CentOS 5 has been EOL for nearly 3 years and should no longer be used for anything!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

garethw
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/10/14 15:02:11

Re: No modules available to load

Post by garethw » 2018/10/14 22:18:28

Ah, that would explain it, Thanks Trevor.

I will talk to my vps provider and ask them to provide access to the modules I need.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - General Support”