centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

General support questions
Post Reply
llwb
Posts: 20
Joined: 2017/03/22 02:48:12

centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by llwb » 2017/08/07 03:57:29

Hi, can I install centOS 32bit on a 64bit system ? Is there a guide one how to do this ?

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by gerald_clark » 2017/08/07 05:01:46

Yes. Nothing special about it.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 28550
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by TrevorH » 2017/08/07 08:18:22

Yes but why would you? 64 bit is faster though it does use a bit more RAM.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 is dead, do not use it.
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

llwb
Posts: 20
Joined: 2017/03/22 02:48:12

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by llwb » 2017/08/17 03:46:19

there is some driver that my company use only support 32bit OS and yes it is pretty slow.

Whoever
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2013/09/06 03:12:10

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by Whoever » 2017/08/17 05:56:00

"driver"? What do you mean by this?

You can run 32-bit programs on a 64-bit system, assuming that you have the necessary libraries installed.

llwb
Posts: 20
Joined: 2017/03/22 02:48:12

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by llwb » 2017/08/21 03:31:55

there is this .ko file that wont work if I use a 64bit system .

Whoever
Posts: 1114
Joined: 2013/09/06 03:12:10

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by Whoever » 2017/08/21 04:51:14

llwb wrote:there is this .ko file that wont work if I use a 64bit system .
So re-compile it. You have the source don't you?

If you don't have the source, that sounds like a possible violation of the GPL to me.

llwb
Posts: 20
Joined: 2017/03/22 02:48:12

Re: centOS 6.9 32bit on a 64bit system

Post by llwb » 2017/08/22 02:02:56

I tried but the .ko code depends on some 32bit .o files which I don't have the code ...

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 6 - General Support”