Differences Between CentOS and RHEL -- Software Works As-Is on RHEL, Fails on CentOS

A 5 star hangout for overworked and underpaid system admins.
svet-am

Differences Between CentOS and RHEL -- Software Works As-Is on RHEL, Fails on CentOS

Post by svet-am » 2009/04/02 13:25:37

I work for a major semiconductor (chip) company and we provide an EDA suite to our partners and customers. Officially, we support RHEL4 and RHEL5 and our EDA tools work just fine in that environment. However, a number of our constituents report difficulty getting our tools up and running on CentOS4 and CentOS5.

I am a Linux veteran and an active CentOS user, but I have not been able to find a way to easily "diff" RHEL and CentOS to determine what is different in terms of kernel, libraries, et al.

Even if there are "substantive" differences between CentOS and RHEL, we would be willing to provide active support for CentOS users provided we could document the differences and how to accommodate for them.

I am not comfortable publicly disclosing which company I work for, but I would be willing to do so via PM if a CentOS forum admin or developer would like to pursue this further.

herrold

Differences Between CentOS and RHEL -- Software Works As-Is

Post by herrold » 2009/04/02 19:44:31

CentOS 4 and 5 each conform, with three known and non-material exceptions, to the LSB standard and tests suite, at the 3.2 level. The rev 4 LSB spec is not yet complete, but preliminary testing indicates we will have no problem there either

You are welcome to contact me with a reproducer, and I will be happy to look at the issue wiuth you. As needed, I can perhaps point out why you are seeing varying results

My bona fides are readily knowable as to centos with a quick google search, or perhaps from my presence in the LSB's ongoing minutes

https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/lsb-discuss/2008-August/005410.html

-- Russ herrold
herrold at centos dot org

pjwelsh