GENtOS?

A 5 star hangout for overworked and underpaid system admins.
RonB
Posts: 149
Joined: 2006/11/25 21:13:24
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

GENtOS?

Post by RonB » 2009/03/24 17:50:08

While looking at a Wikipedia article on Red Hat derivatives, I noticed a link to GENTtOS and followed it. Kind of weird, no information at all on their own website. If the article can be trusted, they are an organization that has released a Red Hat "clone," apparently version 5.3 of it (as that's the current download version).

http://www.gentos.org/

Has anyone heard of this organisation or their distribution?

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7405
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

GENtOS?

Post by toracat » 2009/03/24 18:34:16

Someone mentioned it on twitter not a long ago and I looked at the web page. But I'm as clueless as you are regarding this clone. :-(

scottro
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2434
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: GENtOS?

Post by scottro » 2009/03/24 18:40:50

Shouldn't it be "else's"? Alan?


irrelevant as always,


Scott

RonB
Posts: 149
Joined: 2006/11/25 21:13:24
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Re: GENtOS?

Post by RonB » 2009/03/24 19:30:13

[quote]
toracat wrote:
Someone mentioned it on twitter not a long ago and I looked at the web page. But I'm as clueless as you are regarding this clone. :-([/quote]

The WhoIs record shows that the registrant is Kevin Wood. located in France. He's also the registrant for the "sister-site," www.sys7.org, that gentos.org links to. Sys7? -- a System 7 UNIX clone?

A Google search for "'Kevin Wood' centos" led to the following website:

http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/GENtOS

Under OS's based on GentOS, there is a link to www.youros.org -- which gives you the same page as gentos.org.

It's like going in circles.

scottro
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2434
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: GENtOS?

Post by scottro » 2009/03/25 00:38:16

All kidding aside, when I saw this, I thought it was some Gentoo based distribution. Well, perhaps it's new and will either flourish or not. .

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: GENtOS?

Post by pschaff » 2009/03/25 01:35:46

Well, got me sufficiently curious to download the ISO. Will give it a shot in a VM tomorrow if the download is successful.

RonB
Posts: 149
Joined: 2006/11/25 21:13:24
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Re: GENtOS?

Post by RonB » 2009/03/25 03:01:04

[quote]
pschaff wrote:
Well, got me sufficiently curious to download the ISO. Will give it a shot in a VM tomorrow if the download is successful.[/quote]

I tried download it today. Apparently Firefox killed the download before it was finished (at 4.0 Gigs) -- so I'm going to try again. I'm curious what GENtOS uses for repositories -- I wouldn't be surprised to see that it's hooking up to CentOS ones.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: GENtOS?

Post by pschaff » 2009/03/25 12:03:21

My download worked - installing x86_64 now in VMware Server. Sure looks a h311 of a lot like CentOS/RHEL-5. There is an added option on the first category selection page "Minimum" which is checked by default. Seems to mess up the later package selection - on the next page GNOME is not selected even though it was checked on the first page. Going back and unchecking Minimum and checking GNOME still leaved GNOME unselected. Looks like their QA team needs some help! :-D

Additional selections on the 2nd page too: Everything Else, Minimal, Router, Everything.

To be continued...

EDIT: Install finished. On reboot came up in runlevel 3, despite having installed GNOME and KDE, and did not run firstboot. Not a great start. The release notes use "I" a lot and are signed "Kevin Wood". Looks like a one-man-show. There are os & updates in a GENtOS repo, so he's not pointing to CentOS for updates. No other repos configured.

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9324
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: GENtOS?

Post by AlanBartlett » 2009/03/25 12:07:11

[quote]Apparently Firefox killed the download before it was finished (at 4.0 Gigs) -- so I'm going to try again.[/quote]
Don't use [i]Firefox[/i] for downloading, [b]Ron[/b]. Use [i]wget[/i]. :roll:

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: GENtOS?

Post by pschaff » 2009/03/25 13:11:17

[quote]
AlanJBartlett wrote:
Don't use [i]Firefox[/i] for downloading, [b]Ron[/b]. Use [i]wget[/i]. :roll:[/quote]

Firefox on x86_64 did not have a problem with the >4GB download. Is it an i386 limitation?

Trying "yum update" in the GENtOS VMware x86_64 install errored out on an unsigned curl-devel rpm.
The artwork is all pretty ugly to my eyes.

Don't think we have to worry too much about the competition!

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS Social”